About PRPA’s Board of Directors

The Prince Rupert Port Authority is a local port authority constituted under the Canada Marine Act, and Letters Patent issued under the Act, to operate the Port in the Prince Rupert Harbour. We’re an autonomous and commercially viable agency, governed by an independent Board of Directors with full control over all Port decisions. Our mandate is to facilitate and expand the movement of cargo and passengers through the Port of Prince Rupert.

The Board of Directors ensures that the Prince Rupert Port Authority continues to work towards becoming internationally recognized as one of the most competitive and diversified gateway ports for North American trade on the Pacific West Coast.

Board of Directors

Board Chair Frans Tjallingii
Frans Tjallingii

Board Chair

Frans Tjallingii is the CEO of 7Gen, a company helping commercial vehicle operators adopt Electric Vehicles. He has over 20 years of leadership, policy and strategy consulting experience in the maritime and oil & gas industries. Since 2016, he has been involved as an entrepreneur, investor, board director and/or advisor to companies in the clean technology, software, finance and other industries. Before that he led the Canadian presence of Saam Smit Towage. After working on marine environmental matters for a consulting engineering firm and the Netherlands Government, he joined SMIT International (now Royal Boskalis Westminster) in 2004. Frans has a Masters degree in Marine Biology from the University of Groningen and a Masters in Business Administration from the Rotterdam School of Management. Mr. Tjallingii was appointed on the recommendation of the Minister of Transport in consultation with the Coast Tsimshian First Nations.

Board Director Beverly Clifton Percival
Beverley Clifton Percival

Board Director, Member of Human Resources & Compensation, Governance, and Major Projects Committees

Beverley Clifton Percival is a Gitxsan residing in Hazelton, BC. She has a Bachelor of Arts with a double major in Sociology and Anthropology. She has completed work for her Masters in First Nations Studies. Her experiences have been varied from Researcher, Museum Curator, Educator College/University level, curriculum development (10years), Treaty Negotiator for the Gitxsan Hereditary Chiefs (15 years) and Health Director. She has experience working regionally, provincially and nationally on Indigenous issues. Ms. Clifton Percival is the federal government appointee on the Board.

Board Director Peter Lantin
Peter Lantin

Board Director, Chair of Sustainability Committee and Chair of Audit Committee, Member of Human Resources & Compensation Committee

Peter Lantin served as the elected President of the Council of the Haida Nation from 2012-2018 and has over 15 years of experience in financial administration and governance. He previously served as Chair for the Gwaii Trust, a society that owns and manages a perpetual fund for the benefit of all the people of Haida Gwaii, and was the Chief Operating Officer for TRICORP, an aboriginal capital corporation. Mr. Lantin is the provincial government appointee on the Board.

Rita Andreone

Board Director, Chair of Governance Committee, Member of Audit, Major Projects, and Sustainability Committees

Rita Andreone, Q.C., is an accredited independent director, with broad chair, oversight and risk management experience. She is a business leader, governance advisor and a recently retired business lawyer. For over 30 years, she has advised and worked with multi-platform, diversified businesses and has been provincially and nationally recognized. She has a long history of community contributions and professional service and is published and has lectured on various business and legal topics. Ms. Andreone was appointed on the recommendation of the Minister of Transport in consultation with the Port User Nominating Committee.

Hilary Cassady

Board Director

Hilary Cassady built her career abroad, most notably at Danone in progressive roles from Regional and Divisional CIO in Singapore and then to Amsterdam via Paris as Global e-Commerce Director. Upon her return to Canada, she became the SVP, IT & Digital Strategy for Bentall Kennedy and then for QuadReal Property Group, growing this group from 6 to 1000 employees within 18 months. Ms. Cassady currently sits on the Board of CMLS Financial, Intellifi, and BCLC where she was formerly the Chair of the HR committee. She has retired from JEA Pension Systems after serving as a Board member for six years. She is a CPA, with an MBA from Ivey School of Business, and ICD.D designation from the Rotman School of Management. Ms. Cassady was appointed on the recommendation of the Minister of Transport in consultation with the Port User Nominating Committee.

Lee Brain

Board Director

Lee Brain previously served as Mayor of the City of Prince Rupert for two-consecutive terms and currently works as a facilitator, mediator, and community engagement specialist. Mr. Brain completed the Undergraduate Semester in Dialogue Facilitation & Mediation program, in addition to a Certificate in Innovative Leadership, at Simon Fraser University. Mr. Brain is the municipal government appointee on the Board.